HERALD ECI event on "Career Development"

The 2nd HERALD Early Career Investigators (ECIs) Network event was held in Het Pand in Gent, Belgium, on August 28-29, 2017. This lunch-to-lunch meeting brought together 20 members of the HERALD ECI network to exchange ideas and experiences on the challenges that come with establishing ourselves as a (prospective) research group leader.

The invited established researchers, Prof. Julien Bachmann (FAU, GE), Prof. Christophe Detavernier (UGent, BE), Prof. Erwin Kessels (TUE, NL) and Prof. Markku Leskelä (UHel), shared their experiences and gave their advices for young researchers during invited talks. In addition, the discussion sessions on developing a scientific vision, writing successful proposals and building an academic CV have been very fruitful thanks to the valuable input from the invited speakers and peer interaction.

Photos of the event

(thanks to Bart Macco)

Group picture
Group picture

Invited speakers
Invited speakers: Prof. Markku Leskelä (top, left), Prof. Erwin Kessels (top, right),
Prof. Christophe Detavernier (bottom, left), Prof. Julien Bachmann (bottom, right)

Discussion sessions
Discussion sessions

Dinner sponsored by Oxford Instruments at Het Pakhuis


 cost logoHerald

FWO    Scientific Research Communities
    "Catalysis - from active sites to reactors"
    "Surface Modification of Materials"


 cost logo


The HERALD – Hooking together European research activity in Atomic Layer Deposition – COST action (MP1402) aims to structure and integrate European research activity in atomic layer deposition (ALD), bringing together existing groups, promoting young scientists and reaching out to industry and the public. In 2016, a network was formed within HERALD for Early Career Investigators (ECIs) to promote the next generation of ALD scientists and help them to establish themselves as research leaders in the ALD community. Broadening out the COST definition of ECI, the network welcomes investigators from within a year of submitting their PhD dissertation to PhD +10 years - however, these are not strict limits.

The HERALD ECI committee: heraldeci@gmail.com
Jolien Dendooven
Adrie Mackus
Ville Miikkulainen
Henrik Pedersen


© 2012-2015 CoCoon Research Department (works with IE7, firefox 3 or better). Drupal theme by Kiwi Themes.